On 13. päivä, mutta ei perjantai. Viimeksi sairaalassa ollessani ystävystyin Maritan kanssa. Hänellä oli IBM ja hän oli ensimmäinen myosiitti-ihminen, jonka tapasin sattumalta. Marita oli kanssani niinä mustina yön hetkinä, kun en saanut unta ja vain itkin. Hän oli tukenani, kun sitä sillä hetkellä tarvitsin. Marita soitti minulle pari päivää sitten ja oli tosi kipeä. Edelleen sairaalassa, siirrettynä vain lähemmäksi kotiaan. Voi kuinka olisin halunnut auttaa, mutta en tiennyt miten. Olisinpa edes tiennyt juttelevani hänen kanssaan viimeistä kertaa. Olisin venyttänyt puhelua pitemmäksi. Tänään sain puhelun sairaanhoitajalta, joka kertoi olleensa läsnä ystäväni kuollessa.

Juna ei enää naureskellen kulje kanttiiniin humputtelemaan. Vaikka ystävyytemme jäi lyhyeksi, se oli sitäkin tärkeämpi. Kiitos Marita sinulle siitä ja toivon kovasti voimia lapsillesi ja vanhemmillesi. Ajatuksissa mukana.

I got sad news today. Some of you already know, that the last time I was in the hospital, I met a woman who had IBM. She was the first person with myositis I came across accidently. We became friends. We were in the same room and she was there for me, when I had my dark moments at night and couldn´t sleep. She supported me when I was just crying. We also laughed a lot and we made others laugh as well. The best part was that we could laugh to ourselves. Myositis sure is not a joyfull illness.

She called me a couple of days ago. She was in pain and I couldn´t go visit her as they have transferred her to a hospital closer to her home. I wished so bad that there were something I could´ve done to make it easier on her. I wish I had known that was the last time we spoke. Today I got a call from a nurse telling me that she was there when my friend passed away.

Our friendship was short but very important. I want to say Thank You Marita for being my friend. I wish all the best to your children and parents. I hope you´re now a guardian angel watching over all of us.